[TRANS] B.A.P’s interview with Pia Kansai Music

Q: You just debuted in japan recently, but how are you feeling?

Yongguk (rap): First of all, I’m B.A.P’s leader Bang Yongguk. I feel that we have had fun doing many things for our Japan debut. From now on, we don’t know what will happen so we’re excited.

Q: On that note, in the days since your debut here, what has been the most fun?

Yongguk: Our showcase for the release of our Warrior single in October at Tokyo NikoFarre was fun~.

Himchan (vocals): For me, when I check SNS and see fans sending us messages in Japanese, I really feel we have debuted in Japan.

Zelo (rap & dance): I feel this is a good chance for us to make more people familiar with B.A.P

Daehyun (vocals): We debuted only recently, but I feel we have been able to experienced some culture. Of course, we will continue to do our best for our Japanese promotions.

Jongup (vocals & dance): Since we have released our 1st single Warrior and our 2nd single One Show, I am happy that everyone has listened to our music. From now on as well, without forgetting our start we will continue promotions, and it will be great if many people will hear our message.

Youngjae (vocals): I am in charge of main vocals in B.A.P, I’m Youngjae. From this point, we want to show off B.A.P’s appeal even more, please look forward to it.

Q: So what is the appeal of B.A.P?

Daehyun: Manly songs!

Youngjae: Yes, firstly it’s our music. We have lots of songs with B.A.P’s appeal. In those songs we also have appeal with the lyrics.

Q: So that means that your debut single Warrior is a song that has a lot of B.A.P’s appeal, right?

Youngjae: That’s right. It’s the song that represents B.A.P the most.

Q: When I listened to it, it seemed  like some of the lyrics and contents were a bit different.

Youngjae: the meaning is the same, but with grammar and vocabulary, as well as phrasing, we can’t help that those will change.

Daehyun: Japanese pronunciation is really hard… I’m in charge of high notes, so when I was signing them it was difficult to be careful of Japanese pronunciation at the same time.

Q: It’s only been a month since you released your debut single, why did you choose One Shot as your second single? 

Himchan: Warrior was the song that showed off who B.A.P is the best, and with One Shot we chose it because we can show how we polished our image.

Q: How was recording for this single?

Youngjae: Of course, Japanese pronunciation was difficult (laughs). But, we got a little bit used to using Japanese, and more than our last recording, we were praised by the staff for our pronunciation! We will continue to do our best.

Q: So that means that the special “LTE” speed rap was also difficult, right?

Zelo: It’s our first time rapping in a different language, it was a new feeling. Recording a Korean song into a Japanese one, the hard part was pronunciation.

Q: Both singles give off a hard and strong impression.

Daehyun: We have a hip-hop base, but in that also powerful music. But I think the “Hard,” and “manliness” of our songs is our special point.

Q: Rather than a love song, the positive message in the gives a strong feeling.

Yongguk: That’s right. More than making songs with no meaning, B.A.P is a group that aims to make meaningful and inspiring music.

Q: I also heard the One Shot single and it felt very different from pop music. That you have this side is very interesting.   

Yongguk: Yes, I think it’s important to  be able to do different genres, and be able to combine them. However, I think there are still some immature parts, but we intend to seriously challenge ourselves to the end.

Q: With your single releases, your arena tour is also starting. What will this Japan performance hold?

Youngjae: It’ll be different than our concerts in Yokohama in May, it’ll have a new format. We want you to enjoy it.

Q: You also have experience with your world tour, please let us hear what is appealing to you about concerts.

Youngjae: When it comes to concerts, it has to be getting excited together with fans.

Jongup: Whenever we have a concert, my favourite parts are the moment before the curtain goes up, and right before the concert ends. Before it’s over, there’s the feeling that I want to play some more. Thos are the moments I like.

Himchan: Being together with fans is the best part for me. I love that. Their reactions are passionate, and they get excited!

Yongguk: During performances it feels like we can say to the world what we want to say in a loud voice. That’s the part about concerts that I like.

Zelo: I like concerts because we can sing many songs and  during the breaks between songs we can interact with fans, whereas for TV music programs interacting with fans is difficult and we only get to sing 1 or 2 songs. Having fun with fans at a big venue is really great, I think.

Daehyun: I know this is about concerts, but actually before performances is my favourite part, when we are moving from the dressing room to the stage. There’s a heart pounding excitement (laughs)

Q: For these concerts, each city has 2 days, what’s the set list like? 

Himchan: …we won’t tell (laughs)

Q: Even a hint! (laughs)

Himchan: You can see a cool B.A.P! (laughs)

Yongguk: More than the performance, we want to you also see our many different areas.

Himchan: Also we will sweat a lot (laughs)

Zelo: Don’t be mistaken, you will really see each of our members charms.

Yongguk: I’ll say one more thing, that once you see this tour you will absolutely want to see the next tour, and there will probably be another tour. Before we had our world tour and stopped in Yokohama, but the arena tour this time is really a tour made only for Japanese fans. It’s a tour that starts in Japan, which is why we named it “Warrior Begins.”

 

Q: that said, lastly a message to your fans in Japan please.

Yongguk: Everyone, “Let’s go to the convenience store!”
(Author’s note: This is his current phrase) [Translator’s note: -_-)/]

Himchan: To our fans, I always want to meet you. Maybe you feel the same way? That’s why let’s meet soon!

Daehyun: To our fans, Let’s have fun! I love you!

Youngjae: We are really doing our best to prepare for the concerts, let’s meet at the shows!

Jongup: With our Japan debut, we will do our very best, so please look out for us. We’re waiting on stage!

Zelo: Thank you for all the love you send us. I feel I want to return that love, so please, many people come to play with us!

Credits: bapyessir

About afagyel

Hello, my name is A'a. Judge me when you meet me. :)
This entry was posted in B.A.P, News, Pictures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment