[TRANS] B.A.P Hot Debut Diary Jongup: “It’s written Jongup and read mischievous”

‘How did celebrities on TV become stars?’

Among the maturing thoughts of the public towards the entertainment industry, we are becoming curious about the stars’ images and backstories leading up to reaching stardom.

The corner ‘Star Story’ reveals stars’ honest thoughts and the events that led up to where they are now, the goal being to close the gap between the public and the stars. This time, we will focus on Jongup of the maknae line in B.A.P – who aims to take over the music industry with their strong charisma. <Editor’s Note>

After Youngjae, Jongup met the reporter with a playful smile. One could feel a cute, average youngest sibling image from the appearance of his wide-eyed face asking, “What do I have to talk about?”

“Hello. I’m Jongup. I was born very healthy on February 6, 1995 in Gyeonggi-do Shiheung. People said I was quite chubby when I was young. (Laughs) I’m the youngest of three sons, and I think I played around with my hyungs a lot. A story from when I was young? Um..My mother told me that when I was two, we visited relatives in the US but I got lost. Thankfully I stayed where I was and was found. I don’t remember it but it’s terrible to think about it now. work most became a foreign missing child, haha.”

Young Jongup had a lively personality so he played pranks a lot. He was closer to his hyungs than his peers, showing a lot of brotherly love.

“I waa close with my hyungs since I was young. Time just flew by wHen I played with them. Other people say they weren’t close to their hyungs but they were like my friends. Looking back, they were nice hyungs that would listen to the maknae’s requests.”(Laughs)

As a prankster, Jongup had arguments with his friends. Like many children, Jongup had strong attachments to his possessions.

“In preschool I didn’t have any close friends but I fought every day for no reason. I’d be playing nicely and when I saw someone reaching for my toy, I’d fight. (Laughs) Also, in preschool I needed money so I opened the piggy bank. I remember my mother catching me and scolding me. There was nothing in particular I wanted to buy but I was just greedy about money. Haha.”

To preschooler Jongup who would only play around, a large challenge soon faced him. It was elementary school enrollment(?).

“On my first day of elementary school, I was whining that I didn’t want to go and was eventually dragged there by my mother. I don’t remember why I hated elementary school that much. But I decided(?) to enroll when my mother bought me a bag with a cartoon character in it. Hoohoot.” (T/N: laughing sound)

That’s how B.A.P maknae line Jongup’s eventful story unfolded.

120524 “Spelling Test, 0 points, Popularity, Perfect Score”

‘How did celebrities on TV become stars?’

Among the maturing thoughts of the public towards the entertainment industry, we are becoming curious about the stars’ images and backstories leading up to reaching stardom.

The corner ‘Star Story’ reveals stars’ honest thoughts and the events that led up to where they are now, the goal being to close the gap between the public and the stars. This time, we will focus on Jongup of the maknae line in B.A.P – who aims to take over the music industry with their strong charisma. <Editor’s Note>

Jongup, a student at an elementary school in Siheung, moved to a school in Boondang within a month. Even then, his playfulness was the same.

“Until first grade, my surroundings were unfamiliar so I couldn’t get along with my peers and stayed quiet. But starting in second grade, I made a lot of friends and had a lot of fun playing. We played with an abandoned bed in the neighborhood and used sticks as weapons to fight each other around town. Even in my own opinion, I was a jokester.”

But playing around like this made his studies fall back. Spelling tests were the hardest for young Jongup.

“Since I was always playing with my friends, my spelling tests were always 0. Haha. One of my friends always got 100’s on spelling tests and I started getting jealous of that kid. So I started studying. I studied for about a month and got a 90. Even my mother was surprised then.” (Laughs)

In his elementary school days, Jongup was popular among his classmates. Partially because of his outgoing personality, but also because of his mother’s influence.

“My mother started a business when I was in first grade, and I wasn’t used to being in an empty room at first so I would whine. But when I figured out my mother was having a hard time because of me, I went to the store and helped with the dishes. On days off, my mother – who has a chef’s license – would make tasty things like pancakes for us so I was popular among my classmates.” (Laughs)

Jongup, in his later years of elementary school, fell in love with computer games like his friends. But because the three brothers had to take turns using the computer, he was not that into it.

“Since three brothers were using one computer, the computer was usually on all day. Eventually our mother scolded us because the electric bill was too high. Haha.”

Jongup, who liked playing with his friends, started middle school and opened his eyes to a new world. It was also the time when Jongup’s interest in dancing started.

120525 “Middle School Jongup, Already a Famous Dancer in Boondang”

‘How did celebrities on TV become stars?’

Among the maturing thoughts of the public towards the entertainment industry, we are becoming curious about the stars’ images and backstories leading up to reaching stardom.

The corner ‘Star Story’ reveals stars’ honest thoughts and the events that led up to where they are now, the goal being to close the gap between the public and the stars. This time, we will focus on Jongup of the maknae line in B.A.P – who aims to take over the music industry with their strong charisma. <Editor’s Note>

Jongup – now an elementary school graduate – entered a middle school in Boondang and met a new world. To Jongup – who had just become a middle school student – everything he saw was new. The various activities available were enough to catch his attention.

“I did a lot of activities in my first year of middle school (7th grade) but my friends and I took cross-stitching. Why I chose that is a mystery. Haha. I learned about the dance club a few days later. I joined the dance club with my friends.”

When Jongup saw a B-boy sunbae in the dance club, he completely fell for the charm of dance and could not get out. Jongup hoped to be a cool dance club sunbae someday too.

“I saw a dance club sunbae and wanted to do it too. I really only practiced from then on. Even on vacation, I would always be practicing. I started participating in B-boy competitions and school events in seventh grade. It was so much fun, I started dancing more than I would play with my friends.”

Jongup tested his capabilities through competitions. Even at a young age as an 8th grader, Jongup was picked as the Boondang representative at a regional competition, when he showed off his skills. Sadly, he did not win a prize but it was a memorable competition. Though his grade level changed over the years, his passion for dance remained the same.

“I continued the dance club even in 9th grade. I think I competed a lot during that time. After I took second in a Boondang competition, I went on to the regional competition but got second. I went in 8th grade too but didn’t get a prize. Second place was a bit disappointing but I had to solace myself with that.” (Laughs)

But Jongup’s life changed 180 degrees at the regional competition. He received a casting request from his current agency, which had seen his talents.

“When I went to the regional competition, I first met someone who casted people. I was contacted during my first year of high school (10th grade) and asked to take an audition. I didn’t have anything prepared so I danced to the Usher song that I danced to for my high school exam. My prediction? I thought I would definitely fail. Because the judge watched my performance without any facial expression. (Laughs) I almost quit and went home but I was asked ‘Preparation to be an idol is hard. Will you be able to do it?’ I, of course, screamed Yes. Haha.”

10th grade, August, that’s how Jongup’s unforgettable summer when he became a trainee started.

120527 “My first impression of Bang Yongguk? I thought he was a hip-hop teacher”

‘How did celebrities on TV become stars?’

Among the maturing thoughts of the public towards the entertainment industry, we are becoming curious about the stars’ images and backstories leading up to reaching stardom.

The corner ‘Star Story’ reveals stars’ honest thoughts and the events that led up to where they are now, the goal being to close the gap between the public and the stars. This time, we will focus on Jongup of the maknae line in B.A.P – who aims to take over the music industry with their strong charisma. <Editor’s Note>

Jongup, who became a new trainee at TS Entertainment, had the second longest training time after Bang Yongguk among the members of B.A.P. To Jongup, everything was marvelous, so how did Bang Yongguk look in his eyes?

“When I had just become a trainee, Yongguk hyung was alone. He looked old, so at first, I thought he was a hip-hop teacher. Anyone could see that he was someone who did hip-hop. (Laughs) Yongguk called me over separately and asked ‘Do you like hip-hop’ so I remember answering ‘I like it.’ As it turns out, I had the most training after Yongguk. Haha”

But to Jongup, the new trainee, there wasn’t much he could do. At the time, the group B.A.P was only just forming so he had a lot of worries about his future.

“During my trainee days, I did practice but there was a lot of time spent doing nothing. That time itself was so hard for me. I was worried that it would end with my trainee period. But starting something with my trainee hyungs made me find hope again.”

Jongup became a trainee next after Bang Yongguk. At first, the two lived in a semi-basement. During the tough trainee period, Bang Yongguk stayed by Jongup’s side, giving him a lot of strength.

“At the time, Yongguk liked being alone so we slept separately. But one day Yongguk started sleeping next to me. That’s how we started living, depending on each other. Stories from my trainee period? We always ended practice in the early dawn so I remember having a hard time going to school. I went to school with Youngjae at the time but I was happy that the bus terminal was at the school. Because I could sleep a lot.” (Laughs)

Jongup started started to idolize someone at this time. That’s how his passion for becoming a singer starting growing endlessly.

“I liked the American singer Chris Brown so much so I thought about wanted to become a singer. Before, I didn’t have confidence as a singer but seeing him, I became sure of what I wanted to accomplish. That’s how I became a member of B.A.P.” (Laughs)

Like this, Jongup was nearing the end of the interview. His final words were his plans for the future and a thank you to the fans.

“I’m usually very fearful but I think I’m showing different sides of myself onstage. In some ways, I think I’m what some people call a ‘stage person.’ Haha. As I’ve had a tough debut, I will not forget my roots and will always do my best. We always have the reliable fans next to us. I want to repay their love with a performance that will not disappoint them. Please look at us through loving eyes.” (Laughs)

Source: HERALD MEDIA & ISSUE DAILY [ 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 ] | Translated by: MaxRide @ TSUNDERCOVER

About afagyel

Hello, my name is A'a. Judge me when you meet me. :)
This entry was posted in B.A.P, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment